

Department of Biotechnology



The University of Burdwan

BUBiotech: Beyond Horizon

August 16, 11:00 a.m.

Venue: DDE Classroom

For registration: https://forms.gle/r17MqLv5bqKhmcue8



Professor Sunil Karforma

Dean, Faculty Council for PG Studies in Science

The University of Burdwan



Professor Suvro Chatterjee
UGC-FRP Professor, Department of Biotechnology
The University of Burdwan

BUBiotech: Beyond Horizon

Tremendous progress in communication technology and computer science in last three decades significantly changed the world the way we see today. Further, consolidation of unexplored horizons like space Technology and human space exploration has changed our priorities and goals in Science and Technology. Biotechnology, as a multi-disciplinary subject, also felt the transition. Therefore, the subject requires faster adaptation to the new horizon behold. Specifically the concept of "Big Data" under the ambit of "Omics" warrants new directions for analysis, interpretation and application of Biotechnology knowledge base. Hence, human resources from the subject Biotechnology require training and knowledge in domains of "Big eta", Storage, encryption and the security strategy to become a policy traker or a team leader in industry and academia. Department of Biotechnology the University of Burdwan, envisages the importance of the University of Burdwan, envisages the postgraduate and document of and futuristic domains of technology for the postgraduate and document of alled areas of the University of Burdwan to grasp concepts of cybersectic and space biotechnology from eminent researchers of respective fields.

Professor Sunil Karforma

Professor Sunil Karforma, has completed Bachelor of Computer Science and Engineering and a Master of Computer Science and Engineering from Jadavpur University. He has a Ph.D. in cryptography under his belt. He presently holds the positions of Dean, Faculty Council for PG Studies in Science, The University of Burdwan and Professor for the Department of Computer Science at The University of Burdwan. He has 24 years of teaching experience. His research interests include network security, electronic commerce, cryptography, block chains, and the internet of things. He has published more than 150 research publications, of which 9 are indexed in SCI, 49 are indexed in SCOPUS and 61 are indexed in WEB-OF-SCIENCE and other databases. He is also the owner of four patents issued by various nations all over the world. 11 Ph.D. scholars have come from him, and several are still working under his direction. In addition to holding various administrative positions at numerous institutions, serves as an external member of the Board of Studies (BOS) and the Board of Research Studies (BRS) of various reputed universities.

Professor Suvro Chatterjee

UGC-FRP Professor, Department of Biotechnology, The University of Burdwan, West Bengal. Before joining the University of Burdwan in May 2021 he was in Anna University, and Coordinator, Life Science Division, AU-KBC Research Centre, Chennai, India for a long 17 years. Chatterjee is B.Sc and M.Sc in Human Physiology from Calcutta University (1992). Trained as cell biologists at Devi Ahilya University Indore (Ph.D. 1999), McGill University (1998-2000) and Mayo Clinic Rochester (2001-2004) (Postdoctoral trainings). He has 140 research articles published in peer reviewed journals like PNAS, Circ Res, American Journal of Physiology, American Journal of Pathology, British Journal of Pharmacology and Journal of Cell Sciences to his credit. Dr. Chatterjee joined AU-KBC Resaercdh Centre, Anna University as a Faculty Scientist in 2004. Suvro Chatterjee's research interests revolve around nitric oxide signaling in endothelial bed and vascular remodeling. Dr. Chatterjee is the first recipient of UGC Faculty Recharge Programme (FRP) Professorship in Life Sciences and accordingly joined the Department of Biotechnology, Anna University in 2014. He is also awarded with Wood Whelan Fellow (IUBMB) (1997), MCBN - UNESCO Research Fellow (1998), Dr. Alan B. Hawthorne Award (McGill University 2000), INSA International Fellow Award (2014), Swiss National Science Foundation Award (2014) and Fulbright-Nehru Academic and Professional Excellence Fellowship (FNFPE) (2018).