Dept. of Computer Science

YEAR OF ESTABLISHMENT 1999

ADDRESS

THE UNIVERSITY OF BURDWAN
GOLAPBAG CAMPUS, BURDWAN,
WEST BENGAL – 713104



HOD@CS.BURUNIV.AC.IN



0342-2658073 EXTN. 429

ABOUT OUR DEPARTMENT

The Department of Computer Science of The University of Burdwan is successfully running M.C.A. programme since 1999-2000 session. The course is recognized by All India Council of Technical Education (A.I.C.T.E.), and the University Grants Commission (U.G.C.).

The Department has started M.Sc. (Computer Science & Application) course from the session 2015-16 considering the need of UG students in Computer Science/Applications. The course is recognized by the University Grants Commission (U.G.C.).

The Department also offers Ph. D in Computer Science in the fiend of Artificial Intelligence, Soft Computing and Network Security & Cryptography since 2000.

The M.C.A. and M. Sc. curriculums are innovative and designed in order to comply with the present need of Software Industries as well as Academic Institutions.

COURSES OFFERED

M.SC. IN COMPUTER SCIENCE
& APPLICATION
MCA (MASTER OF COMPUTER
SCIENCE)

SPECIALIZATION

CRYPTOGRAPHY & NETWORK

SECURITY

MOBILE COMPUTING

PATTERN RECOGNITION

IMAGE PROCESSING

IN-TAKE CAPACITY

MCSA - 30 SEATS

MCA - 20 SEATS

PH.D. - 20 SEATS

FACULTY

NO OF PROFESSORS : 1

No of Associate Professor: 2

NO OF ASSISTANT PROFESSOR: 2

Non-Teaching Staff : 4

RESEARCH AREA

A. SOFT COMPUTING

B. NATURAL LANGUAGE PROCESSING

C. NETWORK SECURITY

D. SOFTWARE ENGINEERING

E. MOBILE COMPUTING

F. BIOINFORMATICS

G.

STATISTICS OF PAPER/BOOK PUBLICATION

BOOK PUBLICATION :8

INTERNATIONAL JOURNAL :70

NATIONAL JOURNAL

INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE : 90

NATIONAL CONFERENCE : 25

WHITE PAPER PUBLICATION

RESEARCH FUNDED BY

UGC DRS

- **UGC DSA**
- **UGC COSIST**
- DRDA
- **UGC: INNOVATIVE RESEARCH: AI RESEARCH UNIT**

COLLOBORATION WITH OTHER INSTITUTIONS

SOME OF OUR ALUMNI ARE ASSOCIATED WITH

(SOFTWARE DEVELOPER)

SUBHOJIT PAL, IBM

MR. SAMIT DUTTA

MR. UDAYAN KAR, WIPRO

■ MR. CHANDAN PATRA, E-Solz

MR. DEBABRATA BARDHAN, LSI Logic

MR. PARTHA MAHATO, Siemens

MR. MANAS BAIN, HCL

MISS JAYEETA BHATTACHARIYA, IBM

MISS DEEPA GUPTA, IBM

MR. BARUN BAIRAGI, CDAC

(UNIVERSITY / COLLEGE TEACHER)

MR. PARTHAJIT ROY. BURDWAN UNIVERSITY

MR. PALLAB DEY, KALNA COLLEGE

MR. AMITHAVA BANDOPADHYAY, MANKAR COLLEGE

MR. AJIT SINGH, NETAJI MAHAVIDYALAYA

MR. SANJIB MANDAL, BURDWAN UNIVERSITY

MR. TAPAS GHOSH, BANKURA SAMMILANI

MR. J. GHOSH, HERITAGE INSTITUTE OF TECH., KOLKATA

MR. S. BASU, HERITAGE INSTITUTE OF TECH., KOLKATA

DR. D. GHOSH, DR. B.C.ROY. ENGG.COL, DURGAPUR

MR. T. HALDER, DR. B.C.ROY. ENGG.COL, DURGAPUR